top of page
  • 100starnight

Sacre Coeur



There are many famous cathedrals in Paris, one of which is the landmark Sacre Coeur Basilica (the Basilica of the Sacred Heart). The exterior is made of ornately carved white stone, arching into domes that tower over a good portion of the city because the cathedral is built on top of a huge hill. You can skip climbing the hill, though, if you don't feel like taking that many stairs.

If you want to skip the stairs, you can take this mini-train. Apparently there's a funuicular with a great view, too

What really inspired me about Sacre Coeur, though, was when we went inside. It's a silent church, so people are technically not supposed to talk while inside, but it's also a popular tourist spot, so there's a pretty constant stream of quiet whispers. The only times when the church officially has noise, however, is during mass - which was when we happened to be there.

Being a Christian, I decided to attend the service, which was one of the better ideas I've ever had. It was really powerful to just sit in the pews, looking up at a giant painting of God with his arms outstretched, and just reflect. I didn't understand a word of the service, nor could I understand the lyrics of the music, but when the choir began to sing? There are some things that transcend language, and this was definitely one of them. It was a deeply moving, awe-inspiring experience. I now understand why people built cathedrals; being so completely surrounded by beauty really makes it easy to connect with and think about God.

Sacre Coeur definitely has things to offer non-Christians, too, though. One of the people I was with is Hindu, so I'm not sure how she felt about the whole 'going to mass' experience, but she did agree that the cathedral was beautiful, and we all plan on going back together later this summer.

It's very dark inside the cathedral, though it was very bright outside, so all of the stained glass literally glowed.

Next time we visit, we plan to go to the top of the dome; the line was kind of long while we were there, so we didn't get to do that part yet.

Logistics Note: I can't quite figure out the best format for sharing all of the photos I took; I don't want to use a gallery because it leaves everything thumbnail-sized, and I don't want to use a slideshow because it doesn't allow captions. Thus, I am forced to list all of them here; I apologize for how much you'll have to scroll.


The archways at the entrance of the Basilica as seen from the base of the building

The difference in light levels made it hard to get a good picture of the stained glass

Only two of my stained glass photos turned out; hopefully I'll get more when we return


A cute window on the side of the cathedral



A building connected to Sacre Coeur; I'm not quite sure what it actually is, but my best guess is that it's where the nuns stay


A statue of a saint inside the cathedral; someone left orchids for her.




The dome, as seen from inside the cathedral. I can't wait to go up to the top next time!


The building has some pretty intense geometry

Sacre Coeur means Sacred Heart

An angel from the main ceiling

A detail shot of the angel's wing

Though many people only see the two main statues in front, the cathedral is decorated with sculptures and gargoyles on many sides

A tower nearby. Not sure if it's part of Sacre Coeur or not, but I liked it either way

27 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page